PHP Poster

2015 RFQ School

The first Radio Frequency Quadrupole accelerator (RFQ) was demonstrated in Protvino, Russia, in 1972. The first RFQ in the “West” was demonstrated at Los Alamos in 1980. Since then many RFQs have been built worldwide for a variety of applications in research, industry and medicine.

Protvino, 1972

Los Alamos, 1980

Tsinghua University, 2012

Oakridge SNS, 2013

For many years PARMTEQ was the standard code used by machine builders worldwide to design RFQs. One of the original authors has now written a derivative version, RFQGEN, which preserves the fundamental physics and incorporates many years of experience in RFQ design, fabrication, tuning and operation. RFQGEN is available to the accelerator community worldwide.

RFQGEN can be used to design RFQs over a wide range of design parameters and performance requirements and, in addition, can simulate the detailed beam dynamics performance of the resulting designs. RFQGEN was released last year at IPAC2014 in Dresden. It already has a significant group of users from many countries. This year, Lloyd Young, the primary author of RFQGEN, will conduct a second 3-day RFQ design school, using RFQGEN, at the Conference Center in Richmond, VA, beginning Saturday, May 9th, just following IPAC2015.

Our primary goal is to teach as many young machine designers as possible how to design modern RFQ accelerators using proven design approaches. Single user versions of RGQGEN will be licensed for $7.5k while institutional versions will be available for $12k. Licenses will be indefinite and will include one year of code maintenance. Users are invited to attend RFQ School free of charge. If you or any of your colleagues are interested in either RFQGEN and/or RFQ School please contact for more details.